More Good than Bad

How well do you know the current popular music? Can you spot the changes I made to the lyrics here?

You’re giving me a million reasons to let you go
You’re giving me a million reasons to quit the show

You’re giving me a million reasons
Give me a million reasons
Givin’ me a million reasons
About a million reasons

If I had a highway, I would run for the hills
If you could me meet halfway, I’d forever be still
But you’re giving me a million reasons
Give me a million reasons
Givin’ me a million reasons
About a million reasons

I stay here today
I try to make the worst seem better
Where’s my sunny day?
To burn through all this dreary weather
I’ve got a hundred million reasons to walk away
But really, I just need more good ones to stay

Head stuck in a cycle, I look off and I stare
It’s like that I’ve stopped breathing, but completely aware
Cause you’re giving me a million reasons
Give me a million reasons
Givin’ me a million reasons
About a million reasons

And if you say something that you might even mean
It’s hard to even fathom which parts I should believe
Cause you’re giving me a million reasons
Give me a million reasons
Givin’ me a million reasons
About a million reasons

I stay here today
I try to make the worst seem better
Where’s my sunny day?
To burn through all this dreary weather
I’ve got a hundred million reasons to walk away
But really, I just need more good ones to stay

Baby, I’m bleedin’, bleedin’
Hey
Can you give me what I’m seekin’ seekin’
Every heartbreak makes it hard to keep the faith
But really, I just need more good ones
Good ones, good ones, good ones, good ones, good ones

When I stay here today
I try to make the worst seem better
Where’s my sunny day?
To burn through all this dreary weather
I’ve got a hundred million reasons to walk away
But really, I just need more good ones, good ones
Tell me that you’ll give some good ones, good ones
Truly, I just need more good ones to stay

Did you find them?

If you haven’t already figured it out, the original lyrics are Lady Gaga’s Million Reasons. The lyrics on the here are my attempts to modify the song to convey my thoughts about tumultuous relationships. I didn’t really change too much because the original nearly hits the nail on the head.

While it is a noble idea that one really great thing can outweigh all the bad, I have become too cynical to believe it would ever happen in a non-fairy-tale setting. There needs to be a balance – preferably with more good than bad.

A balancing scale holding good and bad.

Leave a Reply

