Handwriting

Happy Holidays to all! May I introduce you to my new handwriting style? 

My school had us students write all of our essays in cursive in 4th grade. Needless to say, I detested it. There were a few times I would walk up to hand in my assignment and my teacher would remind me that it needs to be in cursive.

After that year, I wrote in print whenever I could – only writing in cursive if it was required.

print

This continued until I was in college. My mother decided it would be fun to read a book on graphology, the study of how to analyze people based on their handwriting. We learned all sorts of little things, but three things have stuck with me ever since.

  1. When writing on a blank page, try to write either in a straight line or slanting up. A line that starts to go down implies a negative person.
  2. Put the horizontal line high on your t‘s and make it tile upwards. Again, a low cross is typical behavior of a negative person while a higher one makes a person seem more positive.
  3. Writing in print is faster.
    • I did not really need to read a book to know this. However, I did learn it was possible to combine printing and cursive. Therefore, I could maintain writing speed, but make it look nicer.

For the next few months, I started to create my own mixture of cursive and print writing. It was very tough considering my hand was set on using the same strokes it had been using over the years. Eventually, my notes turned from chicken scratch into a jumble of straight edges and curves. From a distance, it still looked chicken scratch (especially when I wrote small), but I was satisfied in knowing that all that practice in 4th grade did not go to waste.

halfhalf

Fast forward to this month where I have been writing thank you cards in almost full cursive. I realize that a formal card would be in full cursive, but my cursive r‘s and z‘s are atrocious and I would rather have family and friends be able to read everything.

cursive

After a weekend of making all those cards, I was back in class and noticed that I was still writing in my formal script. This experience was both amusing and frustrating. Amusing because my handwriting can be adjusted so easily now. Frustrating because it is slower than my half-print, half-cursive and that led me to missing key points on the lecture slides. Two lectures had me walking around with pages looking like someone had learned about font types in a Word document and had fun changing it on every line.

Luckily, my internal battle came to a close and now my handwriting looks like this:

current

It is similar to the almost full cursive style that I have. The r‘s do not have their fancy curve at the top, but the s‘s are now in cursive form.

To you, the one who discovered this post, do you change your handwriting style, whether it be intentional or unintentional?

Leave a Reply

