Blending colors

I am writing this as a reminder to myself.

Anything can be created with even the most basic tools. 

I have gotten back into the habit of doodling in the paper margins. This has slowly ignited my desire to draw with color. The only problem was I did not have any colored pencils. My last pack disappeared somewhere and I could not find it. Purchasing another pack was no trouble, but this brought me to an interesting question. Should I stick with Crayola or get a more professional set?

My pack of 12 Crayola colored pencils carried me through school and rarely did I ever think, “Gee, I really wish I had gotten the 24 pack.” If I needed a really special color, I would often borrow it from the lucky girl who owned the big art box.

I am not really a beginner, but I cannot be considered a professional. Drawing is a casual hobby that I always believed I could develop since I completed a bunch of beginner classes years ago. Right now, I need to work on my shading and blending technique.

A little bit of research on art supply brands and I concluded that looking at other’s opinions was not going to help me. Instead, I looked for reviews that explicitly compared brands based on vibrant colors and how well the pencils blended. After a good two weeks of reading reviews and checking prices at all the art stores, I settled on purchasing the Primsacolor Premier Verithin 24 Pencil Set. It was expensive compared to the $2.97 Crayola 24 pack at Walmart, but Primsacolor review’s were mostly consistent on how well the pencils blended.

The day I was going to Michael’s, I decided to look one more time for any good Crayola techniques. Lo and behold, I found this Crayola Color Pencil Tutorial on DeviantArt. The person went step by step on how they used these pencils, not known for easy blending, to create a picture with realistic shading and highlights. Motivated that I can still practice drawing techniques with cheaper tools, I purchased the Crayola pencils.

One day, I will be confident enough in my abilities to not feel like higher quality tools are wasted on me.

Leave a Reply

