Nails and Typing

I respectfully applaud the ones who make the decision to have long decorative nails.

Whenever I am at with a cashier, bank teller, or any kind of service desk, I always glance at the person’s hands when they type. On more than one occasion, I have seen really long nails and it always amazes me.

Some people keep the normal posture of using the tips of their fingers, which really meant hitting the keys with their nails. When I was younger, I did not know there were such things as fake nails. Thus, I was often worried about how much it would hurt if they typed too hard and bent the nail. Now, I just wonder if they feel like they are typing in the air.

Other people have adjusted themselves to push the keys using the pads of their fingers. I thought it must be awkward to type while holding your hands so flat (I was taught to hold my hands up like a piano player). Most of the people that adopted this method were often very slow at typing anything.

Once in a while, through sheer laziness, I got sort-of long nails on my fingers. Each time this occurred, I would make a game of “How long can I go before I need to trim?” My snapping point, every time, would be when I am at the keyboard for more than 1.5 hours. If a nail didn’t get bent from using the tip, then my hands were sore from holding them out flat while typing at my average 80 words a minute.

To the one who discovered this post, are you able to type with long nails? If so, how do you do it?

Leave a Reply

